new member Gareth

Please introduce yourself to others by posting a brief note here. This serves as an archive for the site and helps us keep track of our many participants' situations. You will not get replies to posts placed here. To interact with others, go to the GENERAL DISCUSSIONS area of this website.

Moderators: Mike Bartolatz, kwork

Mike Bartolatz

new member Gareth

Post by Mike Bartolatz »

I'll apologise first as this is a bit of an essay!!!)

Hi all, my name's Gareth. I'm a 29 year old teacher in London. On 8th July I went to the Marylebone Eye Hospital in London with what I thought was conjunctivitis. My symptoms were red left eye, eye pain and photophobia, and some visual blurring.

I was examined by the doctor and she diagnosed me with "Acute Anterior Uveitis" (Iritis). I was prescribed Mydrilate to take twice a day for 1 week ( to prevent iris sticking) and Maxidex to take for 6 weeks - every 2 hours for the first week, then 6 times per day for a week, then 5/day etc etc. I was told to make an appointment to come back in 8 weeks for a follow up.

So the Maxidex seemed to work, and my eye gradually cleared up. However, 3 weeks later I got married (all went great!) and then went on honeymoon to Hawaii (11hr flight followed by 5hr flight) on 30th July and I thought tht when I got off the plane that my eyesight wasn't quite right. But I put it down to tiredness and he recycled aeroplane air. But the next few days I kept noticing faint blurriness in my vision. But on Friday (Aug 3rd) night, I noticed that street lights and car headlights had lovely rainbow halos around them. I consulted Dr. Google and it screamed "get to A&E now!".