Newly diagnosed

Please introduce yourself to others by posting a brief note here. This serves as an archive for the site and helps us keep track of our many participants' situations. You will not get replies to posts placed here. To interact with others, go to the GENERAL DISCUSSIONS area of this website.

Moderators: Mike Bartolatz, kwork

Sarahfulofjoy

Newly diagnosed

Post by Sarahfulofjoy »

I have been diagnosed with iritis. I was first diagnosed with pink eye. I am a nurse. I remembered a question on my State board nursing test about light sensitivity and eye pain. When I went to the second doctor who was an opthomogist with my concerns he assured me it was just pink eye after doing the slit lamp test and examining my eyes. After 24 hour ( now a week since the first doctor diagnosed me) I called the opthomogist back due to feeling like I was looking through a cloud. He saw me then and diagnosed me with iritis. Two weeks later I am on durezol drops every hour. Dilating drops twice a day. He told me to stop the dilating drops when I told him it was hard for me to work the twelve hour days caring for premature infants. It is difficult to see a vein to start an IV in a two pound baby. It is difficult to read anything on the small tubing we use and strains my eyes to the point that I get a migraine. Also it is difficultto do patient care and keep up with these drops every hour. I have a hard time finding time to pee in a day much less hourly drops. When I talked to the doctor about just doing eight hour days right now and FML for the missing hours he said he felt it was unnecessary. What do others do?